My reflection in the mirror…

I wasn’t really sure how to address this one. Is it a letter to myself as a person? Or a letter to my actual reflection? I can’t imagine writing a letter to my reflection. All I can think of when I hear “Your reflection in the mirror” is Angels and Airwaves lyrics from the song Sirens..

 

♫In the bedroom, I see a shadow,

From the moon with light from a candle.

On a bedframe, lies a girl,

Her reflection, in the mirror.♫

1917684_1208464257465_5687818_n

Dear reflection in the mirror,

You’re alright, sometimes, I guess. It’s not a secret that I’ve always kinda hated you. You have pimples, pancake hair, weird teeth, and you know what? You’re just actually really fat. I’d like to swap you for a new reflection sometimes. One that, when I see people looking at me, they’d have that look in their eyes when you can just tell they think you’re gorgeous. Self hatred is a strange thing.

Sometimes you deceive me into thinking I look better than I do. I’ll get all ready and then look in the mirror, and you’re lookin’ good, and then I look at photos and OH SNAP I looked like shit the whole time.

What do I like about you? There must be something. Well, your eyeballs are pretty. They are a lovely colour that people seem to notice. That makes me happy.  Also when you try really hard, you can pull off this face: ಠ_ಠ ridiculously well.

This letter is fail.

I don’t know what I’m supposed to see. I don’t even know what I want to see. I suppose I’d like to see someone confident and outspoken. Someone who knows their purpose in life. My mind is full of questions yet I don’t know how to even ask them. I hope you go far in life, I hope you have many experiences and I hope you even regret some because I’d rather you regret something you did than something you didn’t. I hope you found love and I hope you don’t lose it. I hope you grow into someone that I can respect and look up to if I were to meet you now. I hope your life will be filled with happiness and the good people that you have right now, don’t lose them idiot. I hope you go to a good college and learn some shit. I hope you get a job that you actually love even though I have no idea what that might be. I hope you love life and appreciate everything from the smallest little grain of sand to the largest ocean and everything in between. But most of all I hope that when you look at your reflection some years from now that you like what you see and that your proud of yourself even though there might be things you want to change. Embrace those flaws, they’re what makes you beautiful.

Sincerely, The Girl looking At You.♥

 

♫Who is that girl I see

Staring straight

Back at me?

Why is my reflection someone

I don’t know?

Somehow I cannot hide

Who I am

Though I’ve tried

When will my reflection show

Who I am inside?♫

– Mulan

 

Wow it’s over, as cheesy and corny as Disney is I think it hit it right on the mark with this one !

 

Author: CalicoWolf

Mommy👶, Married to MtF Partner💍, MoonChild/Witch🌙, LGBT+-Ally 🌈, 🐺

Leave a comment